This is What’s Coming

te·nac·i·ty

təˈnasitē/
noun
noun: tenacity
  1. the quality or fact of being able to grip something firmly; grip.
    “the sheer tenacity of the limpet”
    synonyms: persistence, determination, perseverance, doggedness, strength of purpose, tirelessness, indefatigability, resolution, resoluteness, resolve, firmness, patience, purposefulness, staunchness, steadfastness, staying power, endurance, stamina, stubbornness, intransigence, obstinacy, obduracy, pertinacity

    “she practices her gymnastics routine with the tenacity of a bulldog”
    • the quality or fact of being very determined; determination.
      “you have to admire the tenacity of these two guys”
    • the quality or fact of continuing to exist; persistence.
      “the tenacity of certain myths within the historical record”

    • I can not say that everything provided here will include tirelessness or indefatigability.  In fact the theme of being tired and fatigued is likely to come up often.
      Nor will many posts seem reflective of the limpet.  While I admire the hanging-on tenacity of the limpet- I can’t find many other  characteristics that are particularly interesting.  In fact, there is nothing clingy about the women that will be portrayed here. These women can hang on to what’s important, but have also learned a lot about what and when to let go.
      This blog is about interesting women.  Specifically, interesting single mothers.  Strong, admirable, single mothers who don’t allow themselves to be defined by the derogatory that can follow the single mother description.  And we get tired and fatigued- indescribably so at times.  But we continue with tenacity.
      It has been almost 15 years since the day I realized I was going to be a single mother.  As I often do when I want to learn something, I went to find some books. But this search was an exercise in frustration.  I found books for teenage single mothers, but I was 32.  I found books for low-income mothers, but I was well-employed. I found books for divorced mothers, but I had not married.  Where were the books for a middle-class generally educated non-married woman facing single parenthood?  How could this possibly be such a rare thing? I eventually found one book.  One.  And it included information for women going through divorce, and widowhood, but it also included information for women like me, who had simply chosen the wrong partner.  It was helpful and I have since passed it on.  And I also promised my self that some day I was going to write for single mothers.
      Some day took a lot longer to arrive than I originally imaged.  That is because no book can prepare you for the exhaustion and speed at which the single parenting life goes by.  No one can describe how very little flexible time you have in any given day, much less creative energy left over.  But some day has finally arrived.  The thoughts that have been percolating and experiences gathering over the last 15 years are finally moving into creative expression.
      And what better time to debut this new project than on Mother’s Day!  Over 15 years, the number of single mothers I know has grown.  Some are like me.  Some have been through divorce.  Some are widows.  Some chose adoption.  All are an inspiration to me- more than they know.  So this is not a blog about me, it is about all these glorious tenacious women.  And you don’t have to be a single mother or even a parent to visit.  These women have a lot of insight and inspiration to share with us all.
      Happy Mother’s Day!
      Happy Tenacity!
One thought on “This is What’s Coming

Leave a Reply

